Our Committees



Advocacy Committee 

Chairperson:  Larry Sewell
Co-Chair:       Shelton Roulhac


The Advocacy Committee is responsible for supporting the mission, vision, purpose and strategic plan of the African-American Credit Union Coalition (AACUC).  The Advocacy Committee is responsible for collaborating with committees, sections, special interest groups, and membership, board and staff liaisons on key strategies, challenges, and needs of AACUC for Continuing Education. The Advocacy Committee monitors and discusses key public policy issues at the state and federal level that affect credit unions.



Governance Committee

Chairperson:   Maurice Smith
                        Timothy L. Anderson
                        Ed Presnell


The governance committee is responsible for reviewing the governance structures and practices (Bylaws) of the organization and reporting its findings and recommendations to the board.



Conference Committee

Co-Chair:      Priscilla Awkard
Co-Chair:      Lynette Smith


The Conference Committee is responsible for planning the annual conference and the networking events at GAC. Both of these events showcase signature activities and programs sponsored and implemented by AACUC.



Funding Development Committee

Chairperson:  Adrian Johnson
Co-Chair:       Lynette Smith


The Funding Development Committee's purpose is to assess the financial needs of the AACUC on an annual basis and to fulfill those needs by securing adequate funding to carryout and support activities, programs and services as sanctioned by the Board of Directors.



Internship Committee

Chairperson:  Tracey Jackson


The Internship Committee is responsible for making college students aware of the career opportunities that exist in the credit union movement and provides internship placement for these students. The Committee also participates in the evaluation process. The Committee also acts as a liaison between credit unions and universities to develop a viable internship program among these institutions.  



Marketing and Social Media Committee

Chairperson:  Marvin York

The mission of the Marketing & Communications Committee is to expand AACUC’s presence and influence, as well as enhance its image and credibility inside and outside the organization.



Membership Committee

Chairperson:  Priscilla Awkard
Co-Chair:       Larry Sewell 


The Membership Committee is responsible for collaborating with committees, sections, special interest groups, and membership, Board and staff liaisons on key strategies, challenges, and needs in order to provide insight on membership recruitment, engagement and retention.



Mentorship Committee

Chairperson:  Larry Sewell,
Co-Chair:       Duane C. Day


The purpose Mentorship Committee is to form and manage an organized network of professional Credit Union mentors to mentor identified mentees in training, networking, career development, and,  professional development growth and opportunities.



Nominating Committee

Chairperson:  Maurice Dawkins


The Nominating Committee is required to identify potential candidates for current or upcoming vacancies and to work diligently toward attracting and securing top talent for the AACUC Board of Directors. Their duties include identifying, recruiting, screening and interviewing candidates for board and management leadership positions.

Young Professional Summit Committee

Chairperson:  Opal Tomasheveska
Co-Chair:       Brittany Taylor

Young Professionals Summit Committee helps engage and develop the future leaders of the credit union industry. Our goal is to increase industry retention, education and networking as well as to offer career support.