TruEnergy FCU's Lynette Smith Named to AACUC Hall of Fame


African American Credit Union Coalition recently named its 2021 Hall of Fame Honorees, an all-star group that included:

  • Anthony Bailey, vice president of Pepco Federal Credit Union;

  • Jim Blaine, retired president and CEO of State Employees' Credit Union of North Carolina;

  • Gerald Brooks, board chairman of St. Louis Community Credit Union;

  • John Pembroke, CEO of CUES; and

  • Lynette Smith, president and CEO of TruEnergy Federal Credit Union, a NAFCU-member credit union.

We invited Lynette on the show to share her thoughts on being named to this esteemed honor, as well as some of her thoughts on the current state credit union industry, her upcoming retirement, and much, much more. Lynette has been in the credit union industry for 31 years and has served for the past twelve years as the President/CEO of TruEnergy FCU (formally Washington Gas Light FCU). She also serves on the Board of the AACUC and on Board of the Metropolitan Area Credit Union Management. Smith received from NAFCU, the CEO of the Year Award for credit union’s under $150 million in assets. Check it out and let us know your thoughts. And congratulations, Lynette!