Clapping Audience

AACUC chairman's Awards

This esteemed award honors the individual that best represents a model for other members to emulate and best embodies the purpose and goals of AACUC.  The recipients for 2020 were:  John Cassidy, CUNA Mutual Group; Eric Gibbs, Sr., Credit Manager of the Chicago Post Office Employees Credit Union; James Gukeisen, Culaince; Kelli Holloway, State Employees’ Credit Union (SECU); and, André Lucas, MD DC Credit Union Association.

2021 Recipients











John Cassidy, CUDE
Senior Sales Manager  
CUNA Mutual Group


John Cassidy CUDE is a senior sales market manager for CUNA Mutual Group. Working with associations, leagues, and credit unions, he establishes, strengthens, and maintains relationships with credit union trade organizations across the U.S. He develops and implements marketing strategies that promote the company's competitive financial services to the credit union industry.


Prior to joining CUNA Mutual Group, John served as the marketing & business development manager at Latitude 32 Credit Union in Charleston, South Carolina and as a marketing coordinator at the Credit Union Association of New York in Albany, New York.


John is a graduate of the Spring 2014 Credit Union Development Educator (CUDE) class. He serves on the board of directors at Porchlight, a nonprofit focused on reducing homelessness in Dane County and is on the advisory board at LifeSmarts, an organization that provides real-world education for students who learn about core consumer topics and develop critical thinking skills.

John Cassidy.jpg









Eric Gibbs Sr.

Credit Manager

Chicago Post Office Employees Credit Union

Eric Gibbs Sr. is the Credit Manager of the Chicago Post Office Employees Credit Union. He is also the newly-elected president of the Midwest Regional Chapter of the African American Credit Union Coalition, which he joined three years ago. A Boston native, Eric in 2009 took a position with the Chicago credit union; his skillset and diverse knowledge base allow him to excel in several departments, including Lending, Recoveries and Member Relations. Prior to joining CPOECU, Eric was a leader in the world of property and casualty insurance at Amica Mutual, in the underwriting department. Eric holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Virginia State University and a Master of Business Administration from Roosevelt University in Chicago. He is a lifelong member of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc. and volunteers as a docent at the DuSable Museum of African American History.

Eric Gibbs Sr..jpg











James Gukeisen, CUDE
Director of Business Development
FIS Global

James Gukeisen is a 19-year credit union movement veteran from Tampa, FL. James is married to his wife Jaime and is the father of five. James spent 11 years at Suncoast Credit Union starting in the cash room and working up to Senior Card Services Manager. James’ last 8 years of service have been at Culiance in various roles and is now a member of the Credit Union Division of FIS. James became involved with the AACUC in 2016 through Culiance as a sponsor before joining the AACUC as a member. James enjoys volunteering; having completed a 3-year volunteer term on the Suncoast for Kids Foundation, is a former VITA counselor and current Board member for Family Promise of Hillsborough County serving those threatened with homelessness. James is a CUDE, CCUE, CFSP, and CFMS.

James Gukeisen.png











Kelli C. Holloway
Vice President, Member Education and Outreach
State Employees’ Credit Union

Kelli is from Raleigh, NC and began her career in financial education with State Employees’ Credit Union in 2009. Kelli holds a bachelor’s degree in Communication Studies and English from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She works alongside her staff to train SECU employees statewide on financial education efforts for youth and adults. As a credit union advocate, she understands the importance of making lasting relationships with members, volunteers and the communities we serve. She is a proud AACUC volunteer since 2017, currently serving as the Vice President of the Southern Regional Chapter of the Organization. She was initiated into the Theta Pi Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated in Fall of 2006. She’s a wife to Michael and Mom to daughter Zoie who’s 2, with new baby girl due in October. Empowering students through financial education is truly one of her passions!

Kelli C. Holloway.jpg











André Lucas
Director of Compliance
MD DC Credit Union Association

André A. Lucas is the MD|DC Credit Union Association’s Director of Compliance.  Andre’s current responsibilities include active involvement in consulting with affiliated credit unions on operational issues, policies and procedure development, and federal and state compliance issues.  He also provides training in the areas of Bank Secrecy Act (BSA) and Collections and conducts on-site BSA compliance testing for affiliated credit unions.

André began his career in the financial industry as a Loan Officer/Collector with American Finance Company in 1977.  His credit union career began as a Collection Officer with Pentagon Federal Credit Union in January 1984.  In July 1986 he accepted the position of Collections Manager with CommonWealth One Federal Credit Union in Alexandria, Virginia.  During his twenty years with CommonWealth One FCU, André was one of the first elected officers for the Capital Area Collection Managers Roundtable Group, serving as the first Chairman from 1995 through 1998, Vice Chairman in 2000, and again as the Chairman in 2001 and 2002.  

Andre Lucus.jpg